#2 Work in Progress: Enameling Accident – Disaster or Blessing?

In my last post, I showed you a pic of an enameled root next to a porcelain cicada and some other pictures with roots that still had to be enameled.

Today, I had another enameling day. Unfortunately, things went slower than planned and not the way they were supposed to. The roots really ‘eat’ a lot of enamel and it takes a long time to apply it but I managed to enamel all of them. When they came out of the kiln though, I noticed that the silver wire was more oxidized than the one of the roots that I had enameled before. The wire from the first roots is not the same as the one I used for the new ones. I was and I still am bummed about this… silly me, it looks like I ordered the wrong type of wire with my last big silver order.

Anyway… since they looked different from what I had expected, I thought it would not hurt to experiment a little and I managed to make them look really old. The complete opposite of the first ones.

Now, my head is still spinning from a super long day in the studio and I think I don’t have the necessary distance yet to make a proper decision but what do you think? Does it work?

ImageThe roots in this pic look the ‘oldest’. The light grey enamel even partly changed color and it looks yellowed. As you can see, the silver wire is not as shiny as the one in the ‘Cicada’ piece. Since the lamp part looks old and dusty too, I kind of think that the two might work together but still, I am not sure.

ImageThis piece is definitely off. I will try to re-enamel it tomorrow and see what will happen then. Not sure about the color or the shine.

ImageAlso this one. Not sure about it at all.

I ordered new wire and new enamel… let’s hope the post-man will ring my doorbell soon.

Please let me know what you think. Any opinion will be highly appreciated.

Thank you for reading.
Please have a look at my websites www.lisa-juen.com and www.proonk.com.
Feel free to follow me on Twitter @LisaJuenProonK and like my FB ProonK page.

3 thoughts on “#2 Work in Progress: Enameling Accident – Disaster or Blessing?

  1. Such a doofus- hadn’t realised the other roots were yet to be enameled in my last comment.
    Here’s a bit of feedback for round 2: The introduction of a bit more colour really works (for me). I’m not so sure about the first one? I agree it looks old, but might it also look a bit mouldy? Just putting that out there… I’m really liking the lighter green of the middle image- it refers back to the cicada piece nicely, and I think perhaps might be more emotive of your narrative? I’m not so against the last piece as you seem to be, although, the colour and the shape of the root do remind me a little of a snake…
    Looking forward to seeing how these all progress, especially on how you decide to join all the elements together- something I don’t always find that easy!

    • Fliss, thanks a lot for your feedback. I really appreciate it.
      Now that I have slept about it, things look a little clearer. I agree with you that the first piece might look a little ‘moldy’. I have to admit that I am intrigued by the quality of the enamel but maybe not for this particular piece. The lamp part looks very used and dirty and I intend to keep it that way, so having another ‘moldy’ part in addition to it might be a little too much. I will wait for the new wire to come and make a second root, so that I can compare the two and decide for sure. I guess some things really need to be seen in order to see, if that makes sense.
      In terms of colour, the greens and blues work really well. The pink and purple look ‘cloudy’ and they change color around the wires for some reason, so I think I’ll stay away from those. Also opaque colours. Not a huge fan. Still, I think it would be nice to introduce and experiment with other shades. New enamels are on the way… I hope they will turn out the way I want them, no cloudy colour changes.
      All pieces will be mounted on stainless steel backs. I LOVE the material and all its qualities. Also, I enjoy having the contrast of 2D and 3D elements in my pieces. Drawing the designs on the computer requires a different way of thinking, since everything starts off with a sheet and is bent in place from one piece. I like to construct those blueprints on the computer. I think the stainless steel elements add a great contrast to the compostition.
      When it comes to the final look of the pieces, I have to admit that I am not sure yet. Still work in progress. The final touches will be made on the computer, when all elements are in place.
      So, right now, back to square one… enameling #3!
      I hope I can finish everything in time. I will keep you posted! 🙂

  2. Pingback: #3 Work in Progress: Relief | LisaJuenProonK

Leave a Reply

